1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Flats on a fretless?

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by red7flag, Feb 11, 2020.

1. red7flag

red7flag

Oct 25, 2017
    Dickson, TN
    I am new to flats. Just put my first pair on my G&L LB-190 and love the deep rich rice. Have been considering a Tony Franklin fretless. How would flats sound on the TFB? In addition to tone, I would think Flats would be easier on the fretboard.

TN WOODMAN and teh-slb like this.
  2. Fresh Eddie

Fresh Eddie

Nov 13, 2008
    New England
    Flats on a fretless are like peanut butter and jelly! Give it a try.

vanderbe, SJan3, mrcbass and 21 others like this.
  3. arbiterusa

arbiterusa

Sep 24, 2015
    San Diego, CA
    Interestingly enough, I'm not a big fan of flats on my fretlesses. Tried quite a few. Miss the sustain and definition I get with rounds.

I had, up until a few months ago, a fretted Jazz bass. LOVE the sound of flats on that. Considering getting another fretted bass just to run some of those Fender 9050s on.

4. godofthunder59

godofthunder59 God of Thunder and Rock and Roll

Feb 19, 2006
    Rochester NY USA
    Endorsing Cataldo Basses, Whirlwind products, Thunderbucker pickups
    Flats on my fretless Precisions! FB_IMG_1575296919177.jpg

Inky13, stubborne, BEADG63 and 23 others like this.
  5. woodyng2

woodyng2 Supporting Member

Oct 4, 2015
    Oregon Coast
    My fretless experiences have been really hit or miss. I loved a set of Labella classic black tapewounds on a Carvin AC40 bass i had. I used the same set on a Yamaha cheapy fretless and they sounded great.
    For a while i had a Mexican J bass with half rounds,and just thought the metallic sound and the fretless sound didn’t mesh. (I don’t know how Jaco did it!)