1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Flats worth having an extra bass?

Discussion in 'Strings [BG]' started by Bijoux, May 19, 2011.

1. Bijoux

Bijoux

Aug 13, 2001
    Denver-CO-USA
    I've been playing bass for about 30 years now and I finally was willing to try flatwounds.
    Anyway, I kind of like these strings and what they do, but at the end of the day most of the time end up taking my other bass with roundwounds.
    I've been keeping this bass with flats, but it's mostly hanging on the wall,waiting for the occasional gig or recording session that I might use.
    What's you opinion? should I keep the bass even though I m not getting much use out of it?
    I made a video, and I like how these strings sound. But for some reason I keep thinking they only sort of do one kind of thing...
    YouTube - ‪Fender Jazz Bass with Flatwounds - Fingerstyle improv test‬‏

2. Buxtehude

Buxtehude

Jan 5, 2011
    Sydney
    That's because they do. They fart.

3. EricssonB

EricssonB

Apr 5, 2011
    CoSpgs, CO.
    Between my new debit card getting lost in the mail (thus not having one for two weeks) and my housing complex pulling double rent this month (they're about to be firebombed) I've had to put off buying flats for a month! I plan on switching over, and I've got only one bass!

Nice location, BTW.

4. Funny, I have the same dilemma about keeping a bass dedicated for rounds.

5. jasper383

jasper383

Dec 5, 2004
    Durham NC
    They might only do one thing, but based on your clip, they do it very, very well. :)

6. Kipaste

Kipaste

Jun 27, 2006
    Helsinki, Finland
    I'm also hanging a flatwounded bass on the wall and rarely use. But then again, it's better than hanging another same sounding bass on the wall that I rarely use.