FlatWound Brands

Discussion in 'Strings [BG]' started by peterock1025, Mar 22, 2005.

1. peterock1025

Jul 13, 2004
    I am a new bassist converted from playing guitar. Because of this I play with a pick. I play a 4-String EB MusicMan Stingray and use the heavy purple Dunlop tortoise picks and play through an svt-4 pro w ampeg 8x10 cab.

After reading some threads I decided to try out flatwound bass strings. My only question is (because Im short on cash and cant afford to experiment w 8 sets of bass strings) is which, in your opinion, is the best flatwound string to try..

Ernie Ball
    fender etc etc

thanx for the help!
  2. Rotosound flatwounds are great. that's what i use. as far as pro's, steve harris of iron maiden uses them, the late great phil lynott of thin lizzy used them and a few others. they are very lively when new. they are more "in control" than round wounds when new but the only drawback is they lose that "liveliness" kinda fast compared to some roundwounds. the feel is great though and they have less "noise/scrapes" that you hear when sliding up and down the fretboard in comparison to roundwounds. I've played rounds and flats for years and now i'm stuck on flats. i play pretty heavy-handed especially when i am finger picking so i like the smooth feel with lively sound. I've heard some great things abou the new Dean Markley flatwounds. I've never used them (yet) but they are supposed to hold the tone and liveliness more than the rotosound. you just have to try for youeself.
  3. Are these brands availiable at local music stores? I always wanted to try this type of string i havnt come across it locally yet.