1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Flatwound Strings

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by L2ATJR, Oct 4, 2020.

1. L2ATJR

L2ATJR

Sep 3, 2020
    I am VERY new to the bass. I figured that I have some time during this pandemic, so why not learn something new.

This is my BB434M. I changed out the knobs for StewMac Speed Knobs, replaced the pickguard, and added a Levy’s strap. Together with some open-back, over the ears headphones, my PJB Big Head headphone amp, and lessons via TalkingBass, I’ve started on this journey.

I’ve been reading all of the posts regarding flatwound strings. They sound like something I would like to try. If I maintain the OEM string size, looks like the flat wounds require higher tension. Will the truss rod need to be adjusted? Is this a task I can do (I want to learn my bass) or should it be done by a professional?

IMG_3171.JPG

imabuddha, tindrum, alarius and 7 others like this.
  2. Bozzy

Bozzy

Apr 29, 2020
    I switched from rounds to flats a few months ago. I'm very happy with them. They are so much easier on the hands. I've also found that it's easier to do slides and play faster with flats. As for the tension, it didn't make a difference at all for me (FYI they're dunlop strings). You may or may not need to adjust the truss rod and I recommend that you go to a guitar store if it does happen. Better safe than sorry :D PS: The dunlops I use are still surprisingly bright sounding and they work alright for slapping.

thabassmon and L2ATJR like this.
  3. micguy

micguy

May 17, 2011