Flea fans help me out.................

Discussion in 'Bassists [BG]' started by Jasnewsted, Feb 19, 2001.

1. Jasnewsted

Apr 1, 2000
    I'm a rookie when it comes to Flea and Chilli peppers playing.
    But I've just borrowed a record ( blood sugar sex magik), from the drummer in my band. And I was wondering does Flea slap on the song "Sir psycho sexy"?

And how difficult is this song to play??

what is the 3 most difficult Chilli peppers songs to play?

You don't have to answer all the questions. just answer, Ok?

2. Blackbird

Blackbird Moderator Staff Member Supporting Member

Mar 18, 2000
    Why do you want to know which songs are the hardest?

BSSM is a good record, but I find Mother's Milk more exciting bass-wise.

Will C.:cool:
  3. JimK

Dec 12, 1999
    On "Sir Psycho Sexy"-
    Flea is using a from the '70s Mu-tron "funk box".
    If you ever use a "funk box" effect(like the Mu-Tron, Q-Tron, or whatever other effect-du jour is out there), be aware that your PLUCKING hand's attack has everything to do with gettin' that "flanged" tone. Pluck sorta "hard" somewhere over the neck pickup. Too, I think the pickup(s) need to be wide open.
    Anyway, here's MY take on the main groove/figure to "Sir Pyscho Sexy"-
    That's the rhythm; here's the notes-
    (Anyway, I'm sure that tune has been TAB'd out somewhere...right).

Also, IMO, it's not too difficult(considering), though, I have been playing that kinda staccato Funk/R&B for quite awhile now.
    BTW, other tunes from BSSM worth delving into(IMO)-
    "Funky Monks"
    "Mellowship Slinky In B Minor"
    "Apache Rose Peacock"
    ...all of those are about finger funk(not slapped).
  4. Gel

Mar 26, 2000
    Tauranga, New-Zeland
    I find the bass in BSSM much more musical. In MM, there are a few good songs, but Flea jacks-off on a lot of them and it kinda screws it because of that.

IMHO, naturally.
  5. *ToNeS*

Jan 12, 2001
    Sydney AU
    sup rookie :D