1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Fleabass Junior Review

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by 3NotesAbar, Nov 18, 2010.

1. 3NotesAbar

3NotesAbar

Jul 3, 2005
    Singapore
    I am doing this review because I've not seen anyone report detailed findings of the bass on a gig. All I read were detractors saying Flea is coporate scum, the bass is overpriced for its build etc etc. I hope to say my piece thats all. I bought one on a whim while on a trip to Bangkok, Thailand just under a year ago. I must say this little monster surprised me, and not just on first impression but in the months to come after carrying it back to Singapore. This will be described in the 'Sound' section of the review in particular. I have no experience in doing gear reviews, so I'm gonna copy a common format, please bear with me.

FEATURES:

The bass features a downsized body, relatively small neck and most importantly a 30" scale length. Alder for body, maple for neck and rosewood for fingerboard. Pretty much run-of-the-mill for a punchy, warm tone as opposed to a bigger and brighter formula of Ash + Maple board. It comes with a single generic humbucker in the rough 'Stingray position', though its size is smaller and close to an EMG 35DC, which is a popular replacement for this bass. The bridge is one large chunk of metal and is pretty heavy. Truss rod access is by the headstock, no need to remove neck for adjustments. And oh yeah, 20 frets.

ACTION, FIT & FINISH: