Flex Orig E and G, Permanent D and A?!

Discussion in 'Strings [DB]' started by SirFunk, Mar 6, 2006.

1. SirFunk

May 24, 2001
    Lincoln, NE

I'm a college student and I asked my father to pick me up some strings for my birthday.

Well somehow he got the order wrong and instead of:

Flexocore Original D and G
    Permanent E and A

he got me:

Flexocore Original E and G
    Permanent A and D

I've never used either of these strings before but from some research i decided the setup i originally wanted was a good setup for me (Mostly solo classical work for school, little orchestral ... and unfortunately only a little jazz) Right now i have Corelli Tungsten Forte's and they are OK the G is a little bright and my bass has really low action sow the low-tension Corelli's are a bit floppy.

My question:

would using these strings in this odd configuration be really weird? would my sound be very uneven? Should i give it a try or should i try to exchange (bought from an online dealer) the strings for the ones i wanted... Or should i bit the bullet and buy the ones I wanted and save the mistaken ones for spares.

Thanks for any advice,
  2. SirFunk

May 24, 2001
    Lincoln, NE
    Replying to my own post.. heh

Anyway, after my initial panic i fired off an e-mail to the place he ordered them I'm hoping they haven't shipped yet, maybe they can fix the order *crosses fingers*

what do you guys think i should do if it's too late?
  3. if i were you i would try to return them. that is a pretty odd setup, and i am sure it would sound uneven. I use a permenant E so the bottom is a little crisper, however it's a much brighter string than the orig flex. I personally have been using a perm E, orig flex A and D, and a flex G. This is my orchestral setup, and i'm having great success with it on my personal bass.

4. SirFunk

May 24, 2001
    Lincoln, NE
    Yeah, i got in contact with them, It already shipped. I guess I'll just try to return the 2 wrong ones.