1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

Floerea Midnight Bass

Discussion in 'Basses [DB]' started by l3p4rd, Apr 3, 2009.

1. l3p4rd

l3p4rd

Apr 3, 2009
    Hey everyone, I'm new here. I need some help because I want to buy a doublebass and I saw this one on MF. I Checked the stickies up top, but it didn't provide any assistance to me. And also this seems to be a new intrument on the market.

http://bass-guitars.musiciansfriend.com/product/Florea-Midnight-Bass-Outfit?sku=475991

Now I know nothing about double basses except how to play them, I've been playing electric bass for 6 years now and I'm aware of the major differences in build and things. This bass is probably no good because of the low price tag. And used doesn't seem to be an option because the price gets higher on quality intruments as always. So can anyone provide assistance

If it helps I'm going to be playing rockabilly, psychobilly, and ska, so I'm planning on playing slap 90% of the time. Links are the most helpful. Thanks!

2. drurb

drurb Oracle, Ancient Order of Rass Hattur; Mem. #1, EPC

Apr 17, 2004
    Welcome! First of all, read the newbie links carefully. They really do contain a wealth of information. I'm puzzled as to why you didn't find them helpful. Second, forget that bass. Forget guitar shops and musical mass merchants. Buy a double bass from a real bass shop. A decent new entry-level instrument with a good setup will run you about $1500. There's no way around it.