Discussion in 'Strings [BG]' started by punkfunkfreak, Dec 17, 2001.

1. punkfunkfreak

Dec 16, 2001
    ok, im a new bassist, and have only changed my strings twice.....i was just wondering if there was any type of strings i could buy for my bass that are tighter.....i have a six string aria pro II, and the b is pretty floppy. even when it was brand new. i think it might make my playing faster and neater if it wasnt quite so loose.It seems i need higher tension strings,but i dont know what the tension of the strings i already have are, they are the ones that were on the bass when i got it.
    anyone have any idea what tension they could be? and what strings i should set out to get?
    thanx ;)
  2. Thomguy

Oct 15, 2001
    New York, USA
    Although there's no "standard" in the industry in regard to tension, most mfg's will list the tensions on the string pack itself. Either that or do a web search. I have noticed such wide variations on string tension from brand to brand that it's actually difficult to simply say something like, "XYZ brand has high tension." Because, invariably, there's another maker that has more. Unfortunately, you'll have to hunt around and see where you prefer your tension.
  3. Paul A

Paul A

Dec 13, 1999
    Hertfordshire U.K!
    Just a suggestion - but winding your strings really low on the tuning posts helps.
    It increases the break angle over the nut and helps tension up the strings.
    Another thing you could try is fitting string trees (if they are not already fitted).
  4. punkfunkfreak

Dec 16, 2001
    er....thissl make me sound sooooo dumb, but what are they? :rolleyes: :confused:

sorry, i beg forgiveness for my minute amount of knowledge.................;)
  5. String tees are the round things on the headstock (on Fender style basses) that hold the D and G strings down.
  6. to tell you the truth, all strings are different, and a 34" scale bass is only going to accentuate the difference in tension.