1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

Flying high...my story so far

Discussion in 'Bass Humor & Gig Stories [BG]' started by geebee_r1, Oct 4, 2009.

1. Let's see, where to start. About four months ago I watched a group of my buddies play at one of our base's functions...honestly I had no idea that they were even in a band! They sounded pretty good, but there was no bass...just guitars (x2), drummer and lead singer, so there was a definate lacking of fullness to their sound.:scowl: They were pretty much desperate for a bass player and I jumped at the challenge.:hyper:

I have some limited musical background (school band - percussion) and plucked away at a guitar when I was even younger. Those days were many, many moons ago (over 20+ years) so in a sense I'm starting out as a newbie, not only to bass guitar but to music in general.

I picked up a Spector Legend and a few 'teach yourself DVD's and books' and started on building up the calluses. They gave me the song list of what they are playing shortly before I had to go away for 5-weeks on TDY...needless to say my 'off time' would be devoted to learning to play those songs (turned out I didn't quite have the amount of time off as I was led to believe...oh well).

Anyway, I returned home and we had one jam session together before I had to leave for vacation. We sounded good...a lot better than I had thought we would have since I was cutting out all the 'razzle-dazzle' in some of the songs just to be able to play them. The guys were really, really happy with the sound, though I had learned one or two of the songs in the wrong key (Doh!!!).:rollno: So the same night we all go out for a couple of beers and end up adding another 16 songs to the already 15 song list...oh my...here we go again!