1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

For me, effects = mud

Discussion in 'Effects [BG]' started by skygzr, Mar 20, 2017.

Tags:
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. skygzr

skygzr

Feb 23, 2015
    Southeast US
    Howdy y'all -

Based on some discussion I read here, I got myself a Zoom B3. I love this thing! Headphone out, robot drummer (never gets drunk or plays too loud) and runs for a good while off a set of Eneloops. Great for playing at home.

I really dig having several really good preamp models. I'm a big fan of the SansAmp sound and keep a rackmount in the gig rack. The B3 model was so good I sold my SansAmp stompbox. Some of the others are pretty good, too.

I was never really interested in effects but I started playing with chorus and some of the other filter effects. Very impressive in headphones. All shimmery 'n stuff. I'm not a big fan of distortion for bass.

So I took it rehearsal and it was a bit of a buzz kill. Not one of the effected patches was worth a darn through a speaker. I tried fiddling with the tone balance, speaker emulation and everything else I could think of. To my ears I just lost tone and definition. At best some of the sounds were interesting novelties, but nothing worked better with the band than plain unadorned bass (with the right preamp, of course).

I could see some of these effects being good for solos, but I am not a soloist. I've played maybe three of them in the last thirty years, always under duress. I always feel a bit tawdry afterward, like a need a bath. But that's my sack of rocks, not yours.

I totally get it that headphones do NOT equal speakers, and that maybe I just need to set up a speaker and amp at the house and work at it that way.

So if YOU like effects, keep at it. So far I like my sound with no sauce on it.