Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

For Practice....

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by ninthwondernj, Jul 30, 2005.

1. I recently found a drummer and a guitar player and we decided to jam in a few weeks...only problem is all i have is a 15w practice amp. I just need some opinions on what brand and wattage would be good for that situation and possibly for a small gig, within the $300-400 range???

*NOTE* If theres already a forum about this that I missed help me out!!

2. best deal is most likely going to be ebay: peavey amplification...older stuff is commonly better (imo)

3. Mcrelly

Mcrelly

Jun 16, 2003
    Minnesota, USA
    hey, I've been playing for 6 years and have a $2000 rig, o.k. I'm braggin' but if I HAD to get a rig for basement practice I'd strongly consider 200w 15" yorkville combo XM100C for $375. thats my low price new combo choice. if you got more cash try the ag500sc for about $1,500 with option for external speaker leaving the internal one on..

4. Well, I've played through a Behringer combo that gives 120 watts,
    and has a tilt back feature, along with many other goodies,
    including a direct out and additional speaker out.
    It's only $199 through Musician's Friend so it's under your budget.
    I know alot of people around here are anti-Behringer, but for
    what you're looking to do, I would say it's definitely worth a look. Here's a link:
    http://www.musiciansfriend.com/srs7/fg=141/g=home/search/detail/base_pid/480675/

5. Are SWR or Gallien-Kruger good combos for practice??

6. i think a peavey will serve you well. like a used tnt or tko. they will last forever, so don't worry about it being used.

7. xb100

xb100

Mar 24, 2004
    NH, In
    Get a peavey tnt 115. They are around 450$ new or 300 used. I use one with 2 guitarists who have 120 watt 212 combos and a drummer.