Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

For those who still listen to turntables

Discussion in 'Off Topic [BG]' started by SuperDuck, Jan 4, 2004.

1. SuperDuck

SuperDuck

Sep 26, 2000
    Wisconsin
    Let me preface this by saying I have no experience with turntables whatsoever.

My dad has a Gerrard turntable from the 70's that he thought was broken. As such, he bought a new one, figuring the Gerrard was shot. Since his stereo is a state of discombobulation, he hasn't used his new one yet.

Enter me. I fixed the Gerrard, which apparantly just had a broken switch. (Back when "on" was operated by levers and pulleys.) I hooked it up to MY bookshelf system, and got nothing. I figured maybe the stylus was shot, and hooked up the new turntable, a Pro-Ject. (Never heard of 'em.)

That one didn't work either. There is a very small amount of output, that makes the music barely audible with my stereo volume maxed. Both units have dual RCA plugs that I sent to my Video/Aux channel on my Aiwa shelf system.

Do turntables need more gain than other units? Or am I missing something completely?

2. The speakers are powered, right?

You need to get the output up to speaker level.

3. JMX

JMX Vorsprung durch Technik

Sep 4, 2000
    Cologne, Germany
    Yes Superduck, that's the reason stereos (used to) have a special input for it (phono), some also have a switch for different cartidges IIRC.

There are special preamps available for situations like yours, check Radio Shack or other stores.

Something like this:

http://www.zzounds.com/item--RLLVP29

And no, you don't need to get the signal to speaker level, you need to get it to line level if you haven't a phono input on your stereo.

4. Yes, turntables need more gain.
    An AUX input won't work, you need an amplifier (or mixer) with a PHONO input.

5. SuperDuck

SuperDuck

Sep 26, 2000
    Wisconsin