1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Ford Transit Connect - Gig vehicle meets everyday driver?

Discussion in 'Off Topic [BG]' started by AngusHasMoxie, Dec 21, 2016.

Tags:
  1. AngusHasMoxie

AngusHasMoxie

Mar 11, 2013
    Easthampton, MA
    Formerly endorsed by Carvin, Basson and Dimarzio
    Long story short, I'm looking to buy a new car. It'll probably be a Ford, and a Focus at that. However, I keep looking at Ford Transit connects. Are they decent enough to drive everyday, and big enough to haul a smallish 4 piece band and equipment?

short story long: I think the Transit is a cool looking vehicle. I am single, no kids, but I am an engineer, so the logical part of my brain sees all the utility I can get out of a transit vs a focus, and for around the same mileage/price, it's getting harder and harder to justify the focus.

Plus, my band is currently doing the 'All the cars to the gig' dance. This band used to have a van we'd use for gigs a decade ago, that was great, but it's long dead now(as was the band, until recently)

The foible is that this would be my everyday driver to and from work, and I'd probably gig out once or twice a month once we are back up to speed.
    We have a 4 shell drum kit, 2 2x12 guitar combos, 3 pedalboards, and my rig is two 1x12 GKs. I think this'll fit without much problem along with the 4 of us, but I haven't done the full measurement test yet.

Anyone driving a Ford Transit connect? Is it a good daily driver?

2. RoadRanger

RoadRanger Supporting Member

Feb 18, 2004
    NE CT
    Dunno about getting all them butts in it plus the gear - but I've been lusting after one of these for a while. I presently have a 20 year old Dodge Grand Caravan that's starting to rust out :( .

INTP likes this.
  3. MrLenny1

MrLenny1

Jan 17, 2009
    N.H.
    Based on the gear the band has I would stay with