Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Forgive me for I have sinned

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by SpankBass, Nov 3, 2001.

1. I went to the land of the devil...Mars Music. But I only went in there to get directions on how to get away from there:D.
    Well anyways, I've been in the market for a new 5-stringer for awhile (you may remember the "4 or 5" thread) and I came across a MIM Fender std (or stp or something) Jazz bass (5 strings obviously). It was like $420. Since I'm still new to the whole going out and buying a new bass thing (this is my first time) I was wondering if this is a good price?
    I liked the sound (which I will make better with an upgrade, I think I might put a p-style p/u on it too...) and I liked the way it felt.
    A funny thing is that I found two of them and the had the exact same specs except one was midnight wine (thats the one I want) and the other was midnight blue. The weird thing about that is the blue one is like $20 or $30 cheaper:confused:. Probably something I missed.
    But anyway (sorry for the novel) is this a good price? Is it a good bass (i'm new and I have underdeveloped ears to this kind of stuff)? Thank you.

P.S. PLEASE give me your opinion! Don't just write "do what you feel is best for you" crap. I wanted your complete biased view.

2. john turner

john turner You don't want to do that. Trust me. Staff Member Administrator

Mar 14, 2000
    atlanta ga
    yeah, MIM jazz 5's are pretty good, what i've seen of em. they definitely have potential.

slap a j-retro in there and whoo-boy. :D

as for the price, i would say that you should be able to get it for 400 even, but what do i know.

3. RAM

RAM

May 10, 2000
    Chicago, IL
    From the info you've provided, there are a couple things that spring to mind...

1. The blue one might be from last year's stock, the wine-colored one from this year's.