1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

Formal musical education

Discussion in 'Miscellaneous [BG]' started by 88persuader, Aug 23, 2007.

1. Self taught

14 vote(s)
    31.8%
  2. Less then a year of private lessons

10 vote(s)
    22.7%
  3. Many years of private lessons

7 vote(s)
    15.9%
  4. Music college education/degree

13 vote(s)
    29.5%
  1. 88persuader

88persuader

Aug 5, 2007
    How many of you have had formal musical education and if so how extensive was it. A year of private lessons? A college degree in music?

I play 5 instruments and have been playing professionally my whole life. (I'm 50YO now) I've had some DRUM lessons and some piano lessons. I've learnt bass and guitar on my own and am currently learning the Chapman Stick on my own. My chart reading skills are low but I can follow the REAL BOOK no problem and am comfortable playing with very educated musicians. So that's my story ... what's yours?

2. Chipsonfire

Chipsonfire

Jul 20, 2007
    Socorro, NM
    Umm, none of those apply to me >_> I'm a self taught bassist, but I've had a few classes in music theory.

3. 88persuader

88persuader

Aug 5, 2007
    You'd probably fall into the "less then a year of private lessons." I checked off less then a year of private lessons but as you can see my lessons were on piano and drums, not bass. If it were stricty bass I'd say SELF TAUGHT but I think ANY musical education has an impact on the poll. Guess I could have added "Lessons on something other then bass."

4. CapeBass

CapeBass Guest

Self taught, my first 5 years I really studied a lot of theory while working on my technique. I learned listening to Steve Harris and it rubbed off, I needed my own identity which I believe I have now.

5. markjazzbassist

markjazzbassist Supporting Member

Apr 19, 2005