Forming a Serious Band

Discussion in 'Band Management [BG]' started by MasterChief, May 23, 2005.

1. MasterChief

Feb 4, 2003
    I'm currently a sophomore in high school. I want to form a serious band (write songs, play gigs, record), but I have found this to be a very difficult thing to do.

I became friends with someone by playing music with him. He's talented, suggests good ideas, and you can feel the passion he puts into music. We played an original piece at a talent show on Friday and received wild applause (the best response). Our styles complement each other, they blend well. The problem is that he's moving two hours away in six weeks. I talked to him about making this band work, but he hasn't given me a response on the situtation yet.

If he doesn't think we'll be able to do it, then I'll be starting a band with someone else. In either case we need a drummer. How do we advertise ourselves in the area efficiently? Obviously we would like someone who can make a positive contribution to the music. Passion in the music, creativity, friendly, open-minded. Those are top qualities I can think of right now.

I know I'll need to work on PR skills in order to maintain a band, so here's my chance.
  2. metalguy2

Dec 26, 2004
    That is a hard question to answer considering that... With all the hard work both of you guys put into the band. It could still possibly fizzle out. Like most bands do. Just do what you feel is right.
  3. Many areas have a local music scene paper which you could advertise in, sometimes its free to do so.

Also putting up ads in your local music instrument store, cd shop and uni noticeboard often works.

Be sure to state the style of music you want to play, and any special requirements you have (no w***ers is often a good start)

Talk to other local bands and music people. Check the students in the music class at school.