1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Forming and keeping a band together

Discussion in 'Band Management [BG]' started by Yup, Aug 14, 2019.

1. Yup

Yup

Mar 20, 2019
    I am a high school student and have formed two bands in the last two years, both of which have broken up. The first because the singer and drummer sucked:roflmao: and the second cuZ the drummer was a dooche and the singer moved. I am on good terms with one of the guitarists that was in both of the previous bands with me, and we play really well together. The problem is he has joined two other bands, one of which has minor fame at the school and he joined to be their frontman. Also he likes funk and blues, which I have no problem playing and I love, but, I would like to start something to play alternate rock/ punk kind of stuff (which is my favorite). I have found an amazing drummer and just need a guitarist/singer (I can sing if need be, but would like if the guitarist could sing so I can play a bit busier basslines). The guitarist that is in the other two bands does not want to be in this band and would like to start a separate blues/funk trio with me, but he is so busy with his other bands that I doubt it would happen. So, I would like to find a different guitarist for this group. I would like to get this band up and running and find a way to play real gigs and not just the schools battle if the bands. I figured that many of you have started countless bands before and am looking for your advice. It's very frustrating to find people that want to play this type of music. Please help me.

Sorry for the long rant.

2. sludgetail

sludgetail Supporting Member

Feb 26, 2018
    Orange, CA