Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Four-fingered plucking?

Discussion in 'Technique [BG]' started by 4StringFox, Feb 12, 2004.

1. (Sorry if this is a repeat post -- I did a search first, I promise!)

I'm a baby bassist (6 months old). I play fingerstyle 90% of the time. I find it easier and more natural to pluck with all four fingers when playing, especially on very fast and very slow songs. Other musicians seem bewildered by this, and a number have told me they've never seen a bassist do that before. Is it really all that weird? Does anyone else here do it? It's what works for me -- I mainly want to make sure there's not some Big Obvious Reason that (apparently) no one does it, and that I'm not imminently going to hurt myself somehow.

2. I've been playing for about 7 months. I also play with all 4 of my fingers. It feels more natural. and I can shred so much faster. however, most speed can be accomplished by just using two fingers. which most bassist prefer. some players involve a third finger for triplets and extra speed and whanot. but some feel the pinky is not necessary. I prefer to learn every technique I can. playing with four fingers will not hinder you in anyway, in fact it will build better finger independence and finger dexterity. so rock on man. and keep on groovin

3. I kinda play with four fingers. Index, middle, and ring fingers I pluck with, and I use the thumb to mute the strings when necessary.

I come from a classical guitar background, so that's probably the main reason why I play like that. It definitely helps with speed, and my right hand rarely (if ever) gets tired. If you could even remotely hurt yourself playing that way, then classical guitar players would be in a world of hurt...

4. Funkateer

Funkateer

Jul 5, 2002
    Los Gatos, CA