Fralin vs Van Zandt - I want the Fender sound.

Discussion in 'Pickups & Electronics [BG]' started by rubo, Apr 8, 2004.

1. rubo

Aug 25, 2003
    Hi, I'm new to bass playing, and own an Elrick NJS-4 with Bart X4 Jazz pups & Bart NTMB pre-amp. I borrowed my friend's Fender 1968 P-Bass - all stock. That thing can sing, it has that Fender growl, hard to explain in words. So I'm looking for the Exact sound. I absolutely love how my Elrick feels and plays - can't compare to Fender at all, but the sound is not there. Since reading few posts her I found out that Mr. Fralin makes replica of the vintage Fender pups & Van Zandt makes similar stuff as well. Van Zandt - they have no contact info and the only website I found is this one: - are these discontinued?

Has anyone used Van Zandt stuff and how does it compare to Fralin.

I've noticed thta my Elrick has more warmer sound then the P-Bass, so if I could get that vintage Fender sound but add slight warmth it will be perfect.

I found this gentlemen selling Van Zandt for $85 each.

So if anyone maybe wants to buy these first and compare it to others, I'll gladly will wait rather then jumping on it. Since I can't afford to buy both Fralin & Zandt.

What about Fralin single coil vs Fralin split jazz pups, how do they differ in sound?

Also, I haven't tried any vintage Fender J-Basses - which one growls more P or J?

P.S. I do realize that maybe it's the age of the bass that can truly give me that sound, but I want to get as close as possible.
  2. rubo

Aug 25, 2003
  3. I can't comment on the specific pickups you ask about, but i will mention that alot of factors imparts that sound your looking for.