1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

framus double bass

Discussion in 'Basses [DB]' started by boonster, Mar 7, 2016.

1. boonster

boonster

Apr 23, 2008
    Hi all, I'm considering buying this Framus double bass for £1200 (my first double bass purchase) as I'm new to the dark art of double bass could anyone tell me if this is good value for money or not? Thanks. IMG_7643.

2. Michal Herman

Michal Herman

May 31, 2013
    It can be. Can you post more photos?

3. Remyd

Remyd

Apr 2, 2014
    St. Louis, MO
    What a cool body style - more pix pls!

4. boonster

boonster

Apr 23, 2008

5. boonster

boonster

Apr 23, 2008
    unfortunately I don't have any other pic's, I have played it and really liked it, I understand it's hard to price just by looking at one photo, but I'd say it's in good condition apart from some crazing of the surface on the sides, I'm just hopping that the price is average for a Framus, as I'm finding it really hard to find info online.

6. Eric Hochberg

Eric Hochberg

Jul 7, 2004
    Chicago
    if it's in good shape (it should be checked out by an expert before you buy) and it doesn't need any work, that sounds like a decent price. I'll assume it's plywood? Keep in mind that that body shape is not particularly desirable for most bassists, so if you decide to sell...

7. I mean, aesthetically.. 10/10 worth it

I dig non-ebony heartwood fingerboards, and that body shape seems interesting. I'd think the accessibility to be nice, but no neck for that range... Was it more comfortable for you to play with the "normal" thumb technique, or did you put the thumb on the side of the fingerboard? I'm curious

8. james condino

james condino Spruce dork Commercial User

Sep 30, 2007
    asheville, nc