Framus Triumph

Discussion in 'Electric Upright Basses (EUB's) [DB]' started by bassaussie, Dec 11, 2004.

1. bassaussie

Oct 6, 2001

I'd really appreciate some advice from you guys. I've got an opportunity to pick up an old Framus Triumph bass. I'd just like to get some opinions on what you guys think of these. I have tried one in past, many years ago, and I vaguely remember thinking that it was quite nice, but, as I said, it was a long time ago, and I really don't know that much about upright to feel that I could give a fair evaluation of the bass.

For what it's worth, I'm an electric bassist - I've played for over 20 years, but have absolutely bugger all experience on the upright!! I've always been tempted to venture into the world of upright, and the Framus on offer seems to be a good compromise. I'm not expecting it to be exactly like the real thing, but more that it might give me an idea of whether I want to take the upright more seriously at some time in the future.

Also, I'd really like to know what sort of strings these basses take?!

Thanks in advance for any advice you can offer.
  2. Brent Norton

Brent Norton

Sep 26, 2003
    Detroit, MI
    My apologies, I don't have personal experience with the Triumph. I've only seen pics of old ones and read press releases about the reissues...