Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

French ? German ? Both ?

Discussion in 'Bows and Rosin [DB]' started by godoze, Jan 20, 2003.

1. godoze

godoze

Oct 21, 2002
    Hi everybody !

I grew up playing French (was a cellist for many years) and when I switched to the bass my first teacher played French.
    Many years later I started studying German bow.
    Now I use both.

I wonder what the rest of you do ? I'm guessing most people play German. Please let me know, just because I'm interested in these arcane things.

2. Marcus Johnson

Marcus Johnson

Nov 28, 2001
    Maui
    French, like my kisses.

3. LM Bass

LM Bass

Jul 19, 2002
    Vancouver, BC
    German bow is the ONLY way to play the bass! If you're a REAL bass player, that's the bow you'll use! The other bow sucks so bad I don't even wanna talk about it! German rules!
    . . . or is that French?

Well now I'm all confused!
    :oops:
    :D

4. SleeperMan2000

SleeperMan2000

Jul 31, 2002
    Cary NC
    I play German. Will play French eventually.

The NC Symphony here in Raleigh bass section all use French.

Not sure why, but when they have a German bow in there it doesn't look as symmetrical from the balcony.

5. Gabe

Gabe

Jan 21, 2003
    I favor the French bow. I'm a cellist and my bass teacher plays French so I sort of automtically became a French Bow man. I have tried the German and though it was good power wise but difficult to control and get good tone. Possibly because of my cello experiance.

In my experiance most classical bassists use French and everyone else uses German.

6. SleeperMan2000

SleeperMan2000

Jul 31, 2002
    Cary NC
    Any advice on when to switch styles?

To be more clear: I am a student using German Bow. My teacher (on the local symphony) sent me home with both bows and said "see which one you like better". He does both but on the symphony he's always using French.