Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Fret board radius

Discussion in 'Hardware, Setup & Repair [BG]' started by theshadow2001, Feb 7, 2006.

1. theshadow2001

theshadow2001

Jun 17, 2004
    Ireland
    When I de fret my bass I was wondering if it actually matter what size radius block I use. I think the radius of my fret board is around 9.5 or 10 inches but Im really not fussed about what it ends up as. Its a piece of crap bass really. So does it matter what radius I use or is it any way imperative to stick to the boards existing radius.

2. ehque

ehque

Jan 8, 2006
    Singapore
    im assuming youre going to try and file the frets down to the fretboard and just the metal things as fretlines? please dont.

haha im not an expert on the topic but i think its easier and looks better if you pull out the frets and then fill them with wood filler.

about the fretboard, do you want to stick to your current radius? then you can use either a flat sanding block or one that matches your radius.

3. fretlessrock

fretlessrock Supporting Member

Aug 8, 2002
    Corrupticut
    Assuming that your fingerboard has a consistent radius you will save yourself a lot of work and end up with a better fingerboard if you get a block to match the current radius. Otherwise You will be removing more of the center of the board if the block radius is flatter, or more from the edges if it is rounder. And that means that you run more of a risk of making the board uneven.

If you have some stiff paper or thin cardboard you can make radius gauges with a compass and an exacto blade.

4. theshadow2001

theshadow2001

Jun 17, 2004
    Ireland
    Filing down the frets seems like a bad idea for many reasons. Im planning to pull the frets and replace them with a wood veneer.