1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

Fret buzz with high action

Discussion in 'Hardware, Setup & Repair [BG]' started by fghtffyrdmns, Dec 23, 2016.

1. fghtffyrdmns

fghtffyrdmns

Oct 22, 2012
    Hey all,

I'm fairly new to the setup game, but I just bought a new Mustang bass, and the action is quite high. I lowered the saddles a bit, but anytime it get even close to the action I've currently got on my Jazz bass (still a bit high, tbh) I get buzz like mad from the 8th fret up.

Now, I'm assuming I need to make a truss rod adjustment here (I would think tightening it), but I want to double check before making any changes as I've always been a bit gun-shy with truss rod adjustments. Any help would be amazing.

EDIT: I should note, the buzz appears to stop around the 15th fret.

2. fghtffyrdmns

fghtffyrdmns

Oct 22, 2012
    Okay, so I'm taking some measurements now. Based on what Fender tells me, for 9.5" radius necks, if I'm capoing the first fret and holding down the last on my E, I should be at about 0.014" (0.32mm) at the 8th fret. I'm currently at .020 (0.5mm), after tightening the truss rod about 2 quarter turns over the past couple days. I've noticed the range the of the buzz is narrowing a bit, now only getting really bad around the 11th fret (though still somewhat present at 8) and disappearing around 15 still.

How much time should I be giving this in between adjustments? The last thing I want to do is overtighten and screw up my neck!

3. Look at the neck, is there a back bow or a bow? With the strings tensioned. Back bow loosen rod, bow tighten. Youll get heaps of buzz if your rod is too tight causing a back bow! Should not need not wait. Check youtube. Heaps of demos there. Also search tb. There are good advice threads.

4. 202dy

202dy Supporting Member

Sep 26, 2006