1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

fretboard; bird's VS regular maple?

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by ccdabassman, Apr 6, 2009.

1. ccdabassman

ccdabassman

Dec 30, 2007
    Hi. Can anyone tell me if there is any difference in the tone between bird's eye and regular maple fretboards. I have been told the (B.E) is denser. This my equal honk on the pluck. Thanks:meh:

2. msiner

msiner

Sep 2, 2008
    Tucson, AZ
    http://www.warmoth.com/Bass/Necks/BassNeckWoods.aspx

From my understanding, it is the same as regular maple. Maple specimens with "birds eye" figuring are just put to the side so people can charge more money for the same wood. I am not an expert, but that is the impression that I have received.

3. There are so many other variables to take into account that i doubt you would be able to pick out differences between wood of the same species.

I have always heard that Birdseye, Flame, and plainsawn Maple's all sounded the same, it was just a matter of how much/what type of figuring was apparent in each piece of wood.

Obviously there is some difference between a boring piece of flatsawn Maple, and an insanely figured piece of AAA Birdseye, but i doubt that it would be noticeable tonally.

4. Baird6869

Baird6869 RIP Gord Downey. A True Canadian Icon.

I find the birdseye on my Roscoe and flamed maple on my Warwick to be slightly darker than the plain maple on my Squier VM Telebass or the Geddy Lee Jazz I used to own.

Disclaimer: I would not be suprised if the tone difference is just in my head as I have not formally done a A/B on similar basses.:rolleyes::D

I do find that the heavily laquered Geddy Lee neck is brighter than most other maple necks though.

5. NBingham

NBingham

Jan 2, 2008
  6. cassanova

cassanova

Sep 4, 2000
    Florida