Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Fretboard Cleaning

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by QUSP, Dec 17, 2002.

1. QUSP

QUSP

Aug 8, 2002
    Hercules, CA
    How often should a fretboard be cleaned? What should be used depending on if it's a maple, rosewood, ebony or wenge board?

2. ah yes iv been wondering this myself what should i use i have nasty dead skin stuff all over my fret board :eek:

3. zombywoof5050

zombywoof5050

Dec 20, 2001
    That's MOJO, leave it there!
    But really, I just wipe the fingerboard down with the same cloth that I use to wipe down the rest of the bass. I've never cleaned any fingerboard on any of my guitars or basses with anything else since I started playing almost 30 years ago, and haven't had a problem yet. I do wipe the fingerboard down pretty good though when the strings are off during a string change.

4. Idealy give it a whipe down before/after you play it.

I normally give the board a good whipe down with lemon oil every time I change the strings.

5. I use Paganini Violin polish & cleaner...it's great stuff for fretted basses too. I clean my fingerboards with it. Plus it has a nice oil in it that is great for your rosewood or maple or whatever kind wood you use.

Fetch!

6. yea i use the same polish stuff i use to shine up my bass on the fingerboard but i wuz like hmmmm theres this weird black **** on it now and i wuz like maybe the stuff was making it do that but its the same crap all over my strings poor dead skin it dies and lives on forever on my bass

7. Swerve

Swerve

Nov 22, 2002
    Portland, Oregon
    I've heard someone say you can use furniture polish on a rosewood fretboard but I've been reluctant to try that. Has anyone else heard of or use this?

8. wouldnt that be a little to strong ?!? id immagine that it would rip the finish to ****

9. rojo412

rojo412 MARK IT ZERO! Supporting Member

Feb 26, 2000