Fretboard sanding?

Discussion in 'Setup & Repair [DB]' started by Admpres, Oct 22, 2011.

1. Admpres

Admpres

Jul 23, 2011
    Duluth, Minnesota
    I've just bought a heavily used DB for dirt cheap, from the local school district, and the fingerboard is a bit grimy, has some shallow dings in it and has tape(?) on it marking the positions.

Could I hit it with a medium grit (120) sandpaper and then go over it in a high grit (400) paper, and then refinish(?) it?

I'm pretty new to DB, so sorry if this is totally obvious, or a repost!

2. fdeck

fdeck Supporting Member Commercial User

Mar 20, 2004
    Madison WI
    HPF Technology LLC
    I'd suggest getting all of the tape off there, then posting some pics. Beware of what happened to me with my daughter's 1/4 size violin: It was not only covered with tape but also some evil mound of mole-skin around the chinrest. The stuff I used for removing the tape goo worked great until I got to the fingerboard, then it started taking off the black paint on the non-ebony board. That was a sticky mess.

3. Admpres

Admpres

Jul 23, 2011
    Duluth, Minnesota
    Yeah, I was going to try and get rid of all of the nasty nape goo before sanding.
    It's a full size Anerican Standard, and I'm pretty sure it's a full Ebony fingerboard.

I take it there's no MAJOR difference between ebony and the rosewood on my basses?

4. JtheJazzMan

JtheJazzMan

Apr 10, 2006
    Australia
    Sandpaper should really only be for finishing the surface once it has been flattened.

If you have a large, flat, and sharp file, that works well for getting the surface flat along the length of the fingerboard. Just take it slowly to preserve the curvature of the board.

The board should be comfortable and playable with just the filing, then the sandpaper can be used to finish the surface.

5. fdeck

fdeck Supporting Member Commercial User

Mar 20, 2004
    Madison WI
    HPF Technology LLC