Fretless 5/6: Curbow Cort vs Brice vs Dean

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by Magman, Feb 10, 2003.

1. I want to get a fretless in a few months.
    Req: 5 or 6 string, deep and growly 'overdrive-me please' tone, nice narrow neck, reasonable reliable hardware.

300-500 is my range. I could possibly justify more but then wife wouldn;t let me buy anything else for months and I'm not a pro.I wouldn;t want gourmet instrument because I always ding them or they fall over etc. So finish perfection is not a priority. Tung oiled knotty wood would be fine!:). Sound and playability must be good though.

Has anyone directly compared fretless the brands in the subject (which are all easten in manufacter I assume)?

The temptation to enter les clayppol 6 string land for just under 300 bucks for a Brice bass does seem quite amazing... but... if the sound lacks...

2. Rusty Chainsaw

Rusty Chainsaw

Oct 15, 2002
    The Cronx
    Funny you should post this thread... I'm in pretty much the same boat. Unfortunately, being in the UK, the Brice basses are out, so it's kinda down to the Cort Curbow and the Dean. I've heard good things about the Dean, but I also had a Curbow 5-string fretted a couple of years back and it was a nice bass. Just not too sure about a phenolic fingerboard for fretless, I can imagine it'd be quite "cold" sounding, and I prefer the idea of two pickups.

The other option is the MTD Grendel basses (badged "Bass Centre Stadium" over here) seem to go for pretty good prices second-hand...

Russ :):):):):(

(edited for typo)
  3. Just not too sure about a phenolic fingerboard for fretless, I can imagine it'd be quite "cold" sounding, and I prefer the idea of two pickups.

- yeah. I like wood. I bought an old house for wood floors!:) Plastic bass just... doesn;t appeal somehow. Still, never tried one and they have visual character.
  4. 5stringDNA

Oct 10, 2002
    Englewood, CO