Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Fretless as main axe?

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by basslax, Jan 24, 2001.

1. basslax

basslax

Apr 20, 2000
    Washington, DC
    it just dawned on me that down the road i will want/need a fretless. Do you think i sould use a fretless as a main axe or should i have a fretted with a fretless to tool around with? im thinking im gonna end up w/ a warwick corvette and a MIM jazz delux, but if im gonna use fretless mainly ill get the corvette fretless, but if i shouldnt rely on a fretless all the time ill get a fretless MIM and a fretted corvette. whew. i need help please!!

thanks
    basslax

2. Monkey

Monkey Supporting Member

Mar 8, 2000
    Dayton, Ohio, USA
    I've been using fretless as my main axe for about 15 years, and haven't even owned a fretted for ten years. I play mostly reggae, r&b, blues, rock, some jazz, and never even think about a fretted. I don't slap very much; if I did, I would get a fretted for that. Slapping doesn't sound too bad on my fretless, but it is not for me. I like a big, round sound, and fretless is perfect for me. I also hated taking two basses to gigs, and my fretless intonation improved a lot when I started using it exclusively.
    If you have good intonation, I don't see anything wrong with fretless as your main axe.

3. pc

pc

Apr 4, 2000
    Montreal QC
    Basslax,

I used to be scared to play a fretless as you are now, then I took out the frets of one of my basses... as Monkey said, intonation is just about practice...

Today both of my basses are fretless :)

[Edited by pc on 01-24-2001 at 07:54 PM]

4. Munjibunga

Munjibunga Total Hyper-Elite Member Gold Supporting Member

May 6, 2000
    San Diego (when not at Groom Lake)
    Independent Contractor to Bass San Diego
    Can't recommend fretless as main axe. There's already a thread on this.

5. Suburban

Suburban