Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Fretless beginner needs advice on bass

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by rbernat, Jul 21, 2005.

1. rbernat

rbernat

Jul 18, 2005
    Tracy, CA
    I'm a forum newbie. I've been playing for 25+ years. Mostly some form of rock - classic rock, southern rock, latin rock, hard rock, also blues. I use my fingers, no slapping. I played a P-bass until about 10 years ago when I bought a StingRay 5 (w/round-wounds) which has been my main bass ever since. My rig is an SWR 350 with Goliath II & III cabs.
    I would like to learn to play fretless, so I'll need a new bass. Since it probably won't be my main bass, and I'll be a beginner all over again, I don't want to spend as much as with my StingRay5.
    I've got my eye on a Carvin B5 (bolt-on) fretless. It's about $640 + about* $60 of upgrades: flat-wounds, transparent blueburst paint, no fret lines, etc. This is about as much as I want to spend. I've read good reviews in general about this bass, but not much about fretless.

Is this a decent fretless for the price?*** Will I get that mwah sound?
    Any comments or suggestions would be appreciated.

Thanks, Ryan

2. You can usually find used MIJ Fender fretless Jazz Basses for ~ $300 - $400. I have been playing a long time and am now on my second one. They are very good instruments that sound good, feel good and play great. I'm sure the Carvin would be fine but I think you'd like the Fender and you'd have ~$300 more in your pocket than if you went with the Carvin.

3. Carvins are wonderful instruments and many praise their feel. some are critical about their sound being unimpressive, however.

If I were you, I'd probably go with a used MIM Jazz...

I have a Carvin AC-40, however, and would LOVE a fretless one...but I'd be looking at about $800 for one.

4. rbernat

rbernat

Jul 18, 2005
    Tracy, CA