Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Fretless buzzing at first fret.

Discussion in 'Hardware, Setup & Repair [BG]' started by MMcC, Mar 11, 2006.

1. MMcC

MMcC

Sep 10, 2005
    Dallas
    What does this mean. I'm new to fretless bass but I'm not new to setups. Is it a neck relief thing, or maybe a nut thing? Are fretless necks supposed to be straight?

2. I set mine dead flat for max "muah"

3. Usually , fret buzz at the 1st fret is an indicator that the neck needs a touch of relief. It sometimes happens when the neck is pulled into a backbow when the truss is too tight..

Mag...

4. also, what strings are you using? Different gauges / mfgrs have different tensions that could affect the relief also.

5. MMcC

MMcC

Sep 10, 2005
    Dallas
    Factory D'addarios flats are on there right now. The neck looks like it's OK on relief. There's even the slightest gap at the 7th fret when I hold down the A string at both ends of the fretboard. Should I loosen it a little anyway?

6. what kind of bass is this and what style you play?

7. MMcC

MMcC

Sep 10, 2005
    Dallas
    It's an SX. Those dirt cheap budget knock off models. (Should I just stop there?) It's my first fretless. I just wanted an introduction to get started and learn. I've been playing bass for a decade, but always fretted. As far as style, I guess basically just fingerstyle on the bridge pickup preferably, but I've been playing around with different positions since getting the fretless.

8. Triclops

Triclops Guest

Jan 14, 2006
    Trust these guys! they helped me out with the same baffling problem! I gave my trussrod a bit of a loosening, and VIOLA!:D

9. MMcC

MMcC

Sep 10, 2005
    Dallas