Fretless conversion material question

Discussion in 'Luthier's Corner' started by Marco Conti, Feb 7, 2020.

1. Marco Conti

Marco Conti

Feb 4, 2020
    I read the post HOW TO: Lined Fretless Fingerboard on how to turn a regular neck into a fretless.
    However, the post is from 2007, back when the dinosaurs roamed the Earth and there is a chance some things may have changed.

Mine is going to be a budget conversion of a very budget instrument (long story, check my other post). I have some experience in defretting a neck (back in the 70s) and I think I can do it with minimal damage by using heat, tape, clamps and lots of care.

My question is about the kind of Veneer that would work best and how to finish the neck.

Finishing:
    I don't have a spraying boot and I don't think applying the finish with a brush would give me a good base, so I was thinking of using several coats of this:
    Minwax 33050000 Fast-Drying Polyurethane Aerosol
    https://www.amazon.com/Minwax-33050...ds=polyurethane+coating&qid=1581132513&sr=8-5

A1: Is this OK?
    A2: Is there something better?
    A3: How many coats?
    A4: I do have experience applying paint of various kind (mostly on metal as in a car and using pro equipment. I am not a complete idiot in this matter, but I am willing to admit I could be partially an idiot. Are there any obvious pitfalls I should be on the lookout for?

Filling the Fret Slots

I had a friend that made his own fretless using wood putty of some kind. AFAIK, he is still playing his bass and he is happy, but when I saw the tutorial using veneer to fill the slots, it made a lot more sense.

B1: My biggest fear is buying the correct thickness veneer. Too thin would defeat the purpose, too thick I am afraid it may contribute to warping the neck. Could it?
    B2: Should I measure the slot after I take the frets out?
    B3: Some have used plastic inserts. Is that really an option?