1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Fretless fingerboard material options

Discussion in 'Luthier's Corner' started by mid_life_crisis, Sep 14, 2010.

1. mid_life_crisis

mid_life_crisis

Jul 8, 2010
    I'm considering doing a build, as I am an amateur woodworker with a pretty good tool collection and it is something I have never tried. I am going to probably buy a neck, but in the event that I make my own, what are the best materials for the fingerboard of a fretless neck?
    I realize that looks will be strongly influenced by personal taste, but durability and cost effectiveness are pretty cut and dry. It either holds up or it doesn't, and it costs a lot or it doesn't, no real judgement there, just knowledge gained from experience that I hope you'll share.
    Thank you.

2. mikeyswood

mikeyswood Inactive

Jul 22, 2007
    Cincinnati OH
    Luthier of Michael Wayne Instruments
    Wood is a very popular choice for fingerboards.

3. /thread.

I like Padauk.

4. Really?

Isn't Padouk too soft for a fingerboard?

5. mikeyswood

mikeyswood Inactive

Jul 22, 2007
    Cincinnati OH
    Luthier of Michael Wayne Instruments
    Nope

6. mid_life_crisis

mid_life_crisis

Jul 8, 2010
    Paraphrased from Wood magazine:

About as heavy, but stronger than oak, padauk generally works exceptionally well with either hand or power tools. You'll have no trouble gluing padauk, and screws remain secure.

Padauk also makes fine turnings, carvings, and musical instruments.
    ... it has a high resistance to abrasion
    ... has great strength,
    ... it doesn't readily decay,
    ... it adapts well to cutting board stock.

Nice!

7. There was a specific reason Warmoth does not normally offer Padouk fretboards and fingerboards, but I can't remember what it was.

Anyone care to elaborate?

8. Bass-Adrenaline

Bass-Adrenaline

Jan 23, 2010