Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Fretless for beginner?

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by jakepaul1, Jul 11, 2004.

1. jakepaul1

jakepaul1

Jun 30, 2004
    USA
    Hi, newbie here. I first want to say that this is an awesome forum with very cool people. I think that's what's partially attracting to the bass - cool people with no attitude.

Anyway, I'm a guitarist of 22+ years and my "well has run dry", as it were, with the guitar. I am seriously considering studying the bass - specifically in jazz and possibly delve into some funk/slap in the future.

Anyway, I went to Guitar Center today to check out some basses(normally, I cater to other music stores, but they were the only thing open on Sunday). I checked out several - the MusicMan Stingray is sweet feeling/sounding instrument but a little much for my starting bass budget. I eventually picked up a Fender Jazz and as I was plugging it in I noticed that it was fretless. I decided to give it a try and was floored. I guess it was a mini-religious experience?? :cool:

My question is - would a fretless be a decent route to take when starting bass? I have quite a few years of music theory, etc. but I feel that I'm starting over in a sense because I plan to approach the bass as a new instrument and not a "4-string guitar" with lower octaves. I really did love the feel & sound of the fretless and just wanted to hear what experienced bassists had to say.

Much Thanks,

JP1

2. As far as I'm concerned, you are in THE ideal position to learn fretless. You don't have to grapple with bad habits to "unlearn" since you are starting fresh with the bass and you seem to have the right approach (treating it as a different instrument rather than a 4-string guitar). My advice is go for it!

3. sargebaker

sargebaker Commercial User

May 2, 2004
    Montreal QC CA
    owner/builder, ISLAND Instrument Mfg.