fretless gecko help

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by envy1400, Feb 19, 2010.

1. envy1400

envy1400

Feb 19, 2010
    Tulsa, Oklahoma
    ive been tossing around the idea of getting a fretless and i think i would definately get a warmoth gecko but im not an expert when it comes to woods.

im not exactly sure what kinds of woods i would want. i thought at first i would want a warm sound but i have searched a couple forums and noticed that a fair amount of people get brighter sounding woods.

what kind of woods should i look at to get the best sound out of a fretless? or does it really depend on the sound i want?

many thanks in advance

2. sheepdog

sheepdog

Feb 20, 2003
    Birmingham, AL
    is there a particular sound you are trying to get? a particular artist or song?

3. Fetusyolk

Fetusyolk

Aug 7, 2008
    it does really depend on the sound you want.

4. envy1400

envy1400

Feb 19, 2010
    Tulsa, Oklahoma
    i was afraid of that answer. i've only been playing for 4 years so im not real sure what kind of sound i want. i guess i should probably get on youtube and listen to different fretless tones or something.

5. sheepdog

sheepdog

Feb 20, 2003
    Birmingham, AL
    is there someone's music that inspired you to play fretless? What is it about the bass that makes you interested? What style music will it be for? Geckos are good basses, but that information might help steer you in the right direction.

6. darkstorm

darkstorm

Oct 13, 2009
    I'm found of warm and articulate myself. Mahogany body or mahogany body with maple or walnut top would be my choice. For neck would prefer 3-5 peice, if the latter maple and walnut. otherwise maple. Rosewood fretboards my usual fave, but since your doing fretless I think ebony would be better choice and jumbo frets. Medium at least. Lol.

What kind of pups you gonna do for it? Humbucker/soapbar, PJ set, JJ set or PP set or maybe even Humbucker and Jazz combo?