Fretless: How hard is it?

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by Dragen, Feb 10, 2001.

1. Dragen

Aug 31, 2000
    I own a Fender Jazz Bass (not fretless), and I like it, but I want to check out other options too. Like a fretless or even a 5-string fretless. The problem is that I haven't gotten a chance to try a fretless and probably won't before I order one myself. So I kind of need to know how difficult ii is to play both fretless and fretted (I have only played since this summer, so Im not that experienced). Any reflections on this would be appreciated.
  2. snyderz

Aug 20, 2000
    AZ mountains
    I'm new to the bass myself, but now have 3 fretless and just sold my only fretted bass. (I'll get another when the time is right) I seem to have an affinity for the fretless bass, as it is very natural for me and I just kept picking up the fretless vs. my fretted bass. I play unlined and really enjoy it. I know that a fretted bass is better for certain styles of music, but my axes are perfect for me. Too bad you can't get hold of a fretless bass even for a short period to try. Any good buds with one that will let you use it for a few hours? Good luck. Bottom line is that if you get a smokin' deal on a used fretless, you can get your money out of it if you decide that it isn't for you. Please don't pay retail for a new one.
  3. Well, it depends what kind of wood it's made of. Fretless fingerboards are often made of ebony, so yes, it may be a little harder.:)

Joke aside, it's a little more difficult to play on a fretless, but far from impossible, many people do it!
  4. eric atkinson

eric atkinson "Is our children learning "Is our teachers teachin

Feb 4, 2001