1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Fretless Intonation Question

Discussion in 'Technique [BG]' started by ProbablyTooLoud, Dec 21, 2020.

1. ProbablyTooLoud

ProbablyTooLoud

Aug 1, 2020
    Atlanta
    Hi Ask a Pro - Berklee Peeps,

I play a fretless electric bass.

Question:

How perfect should my intonation be? And by that I mean pitch - if I'm using the words wrong, please correct me. For instance, if I'm warming up, practicing scales and my tuner is on, and I stop on a random note in the middle of a random scale, should I expect that pitch to be perfectly "on," as in lighting up green ( or whatever) on my tuner? If a pro bassist did that in the middle of a scale while practicing, would their intonation be perfect?

Thanks in Advance!

2. 1958Bassman

1958Bassman

Oct 20, 2007
    I'm not a pro, but I play fretless and have a hard time listening to bad intonation and inaccurate intervals, whether played by myself or someone else.

If the intonation is good, you'll have a much easier time finding the notes. If it's as wacked out as mine was when I brought it home, you'll be hating life. As soon as I realized I couldn't find my way around with any accuracy, I checked the intonation and found that it must have been set by someone who has never heard of the concept.

YouTube has a video by Scott Devine, who studied with Gary Willis, and Willis is one of the people who adds videos and instructions to the site. This particular video is titled '5 Reasons Fretless Bass Sucks (And How To Fix It)'- he plays fretless and doesn't hate it, but mentions five problems with playing it and technique is the main point. Keep your fretting fingers spread, not close together- this way, you don't need to move your whole hand to hit the notes and you can let muscle memory work for you.