Fretless Jazz

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by Dr. Funk, Oct 25, 2001.

1. Dr. Funk

Dr. Funk

Oct 10, 2001
    Hey Guys,

I was thinking about getting into a fretless and I came across a MIM Jazz yesterday. It was really pretty and the price was right (349.00). Is there a big difference between these and the MIA Fenders?
    It seemed to play OK, but I have no fretless experience to go by.

2. Joe Nerve

Joe Nerve Supporting Member

Oct 7, 2000
    New York City
    Endorsing artist: Musicman basses, Hipshot products
    Somebody wanted to sell me a fretless MIM jazz that they never used for $100 a few months ago. The bass looked brand new, I"m sure he hardly if ever used it, but the electronics were all screwed up, the pickups had some serious hum, the neck didn't feel so great - I played it for 5 minutes and gave back to the guy. There are a lot of cheap fretless basses out there, I don't think this is the best of em. I'd either find a cheaper one, make the investment and get a MIA one - or buy a cheap acoustic fretless (if ya just wanna check out fretless). That way you'd be adding an acoustic and a fretless to your collection. I only say this cuz I have an acoustic and often wish it were fretless.
  3. Christopher

Apr 28, 2000
    New York, NY
    If you want to dabble, there are better alternatives. The MIM Fender has the name, but the quality and sound are subpar, IMO. For roughly the same price, you can pick up a better-built Cort Curbow or Yamaha. Scam Ash's fretless Carlo Robelli is even cheaper, and plays very nicely.
  4. Velkov

Jan 17, 2001
    Lansdowne, Ontario