1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Fretless left hand technique

Discussion in 'Technique [BG]' started by Hachimitsu, Feb 11, 2020.

1. Hachimitsu

Hachimitsu

Jun 6, 2019
    New Zealand
    So here's an example of a line that uses a lot of root > fifth below. In the video I'm playing it two ways. The first time through I'm using one finger to go between the root and the fifth, second time I'm using two fingers (either 2nd and 3rd, or 3rd and 4th depending on the position).

I'm new to fretless. My priority is to play cleanly, smoothly and relaxed. I feel like using two fingers here allows me to play more legato. Using one finger takes less energy but there is always more of a gap between the two notes.

I'd like to know what other more experienced players have to say... do I need to build more strength to use two fingers or work on using one finger more smoothly?

2. DiabolusInMusic

DiabolusInMusic Functionless Art is Merely Tolerated Vandalism

I would play it with two fingers but I wouldn't rule out using a single finger. I don't think one is inherently right but I feel most "pros" would suggest the two-finger method. It gives you a lot more mobility and a cleaner toner in my opinion but, as they say, to each their own.

SteveCS likes this.
  3. SteveCS

SteveCS

Nov 19, 2014
    Hampshire, UK
    Personally I would tend to play such lines with 2 fingers for the 5th below.