Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

fretless opinions

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by StingrayKid21, Mar 23, 2003.

1. StingrayKid21

StingrayKid21 Holding down the low-end since 1996.

Oct 7, 2001
    Portland, OR
    Hey!

I've recently been considering taking up fretless bass just for something new and different to learn. I am gonna be saving up some money and I have already found a great EB/MM Sabre Fretless at BassPalace.com that has caught my eye. I will probably go try out a few fretless at a local shop before I go spending too much money anything though. Now for my questions:

1) Is unlined fretless difficult to learn w/o a teacher? I've been playing bass for about 7 years and I have a pretty good feel for the fingerboard but I know it will be quite a challenge nonetheless. I just don't really want to spend the money (plus I don't have time) to get a teacher. Some people have said that having a good tuner helps a lot to get the intonation right and I have a good tuner. Mainly I just want to know if I will be starting back at square one if I start playing fretless...

2) How well does fretless work with heavier rock music? My band plays somewhat heavy rock w/ two sometimes-distorted guitars. Does a fretless bass cut through as well as a fretted bass?

Any opinions are appreciated!

THanks!
    --justin

2. Skerik1

Skerik1

Sep 21, 2002
    Saint Paul, MN
    I saw a local band play a few months ago, and their bass player played a fretless jazz bass. I thought it sounded pretty gosh-darn cool. It sounded very different. He wasn't hard to hear at all. He had his E down-tuned quite a bit--a fretless would actually be best (in theory) for tuning down because you can correct intonation problems just by moving your finger a bit.

--Matthew

3. SoComSurfing

SoComSurfing Mercedes Benz Superdome. S 127. R 22. S 12-13.

Feb 15, 2002