Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Fretless or Double bass??!

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by Voland, Dec 14, 2000.

1. Voland

Voland

Dec 14, 2000
    I've been playing 4 string freted Yamaha axe for 5 years, and now I accualy feel that my baby doesn't fit my style of playing, and i don't get this warm "R&B" feel when I perform. A week before i played a Peavy Cirrus fretless and realized that all i need is fretless...
    What r the advantages and disadvantages of Double bass??

2. jazzbo

jazzbo

Aug 25, 2000
    San Francisco, CA
    Welcome to talkbass Voland!

I'm confused. Do you want to get a fretless electric bass guitar, or do you want to get an upright bass? Check out the posts in the Double Bass (DB) forums for a ton of information on them. You could also check out http://www.stringbass.com.

3. Bruce Lindfield

Bruce Lindfield Unprofessional TalkBass Contributor Gold Supporting Member

Yes "double bass" is hugely different from fretless bass guitar. There is the scale difference and the neck is completely different and requires different techniques.

The only similarity is that neither have frets - which is both an advantage and disadvantage. The downside is that you may struggle with intonation and find that while it sounds great, you are out of tune with other band members. You will have to be more precise in your left hand finger placement than with fretted bass. There are lots of advantages, but I'll leave listing these until we confirm whether we're talking about double bass or electric fretless.

4. Voland

Voland

Dec 14, 2000
    Well, first of all i want to thank to everyone who have answered me in my dilema.
    My big problem is to decide between the two fretless or double bass, and these r the resons why: