fretless setup help please - low "frets" unplayable

Discussion in 'Hardware, Setup & Repair [BG]' started by BarkerBass, May 1, 2012.

1. Hey all, I'm new to fretless but have been playing bass (fretted) for 10 years or so now and do my own setups, I play with a low action a light touch, usually a ramp, and don;t mind fretbuzz in moderation but after defretting a bass of mine I'm finding it really hard to setup.

The bass plays great from about the 5th fret upwards. The neck is as close to flat as I can get it but the 5th fret, especially the first 4 or so frets on the G string and the 5th fret on the A string all rattle and don't sing like the rest. any ideas?

Thanks for your help guys, I wanna learn fretless so please help me get the most out of this bass.

Cheers, BB

2. hdracer

hdracer

Feb 15, 2009
    Elk River, MN.
    I would put a little more relief in the neck and then come down on the saddles.
    Or raise the nut

3. raising the nut would only prevent buzz on the open strings, me thinks.

loosening the rod for a little bit more relief should work since there could be a back bow in the middle making the strings choke on the lower frets. Now you said you defretted the bass, did you check that the board does not have humps and dips that could have been masked by the frets (like the frets being leveled but the board not?)

4. pnut166

pnut166

Jun 5, 2008
    alabama
    Shim the E side ?

5. Did you do anything to the nut?