Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Fretless string question....

Discussion in 'Strings [BG]' started by David Harrell, Apr 7, 2005.

1. I just got a Brice HXB fretless 6-string. It has a rosewood board on it, and I'm not getting a bad sound out of it with the stock strings.

I would really love to get more punch out of it though, and retain as much mwah as I can. The tone Scott B. gets on McCain's "honor among theives" album would rock, and is really what I'm looking for.

Problem is, I have no experience with flatwounds whatsoever (well, other than these stock strings..and I do like the feel). The board is uncoated, and I'm a little scared of putting rounds on it. I'm running through a GK 800RB, and a Peavey floor ported 4X10....

Any ideas? What do you fretless guys use on your uncoated rosewood boards?

2. D'Addario XL's (nickel round wounds).

3. I have a Rebop 5 w/DR Black Beauties(low B). I've tried flats & half-rounds, but neither sounded as good as these, although they were on different basses. I'm hoping the coating protects the uncoated rosewood fingerboard. I just put on the second set of strings, & the board is a bit scratched, but not bad. I think to get the ever-elusive(for me)mwah, you have to put up w/some wear/maintenence issues. I'm very interested in coated boards, though. I played a Pedulla Pentabuzz a few weeks back- bad mistake, & if you're happy w/your bass, I suggest you DO NOT TOUCH a Pedulla fretless. If you're like me, you'll want one BAD.

4. lhoward

lhoward

Apr 27, 2003
    Western NY State