Fretless Thumb Bass?

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by SacOnBass, Jan 17, 2005.

1. I currently have a Warwick Thumb 5string and am in love with it.

I've been looking into getting a fretless and saw that their is a fretless version of the Thumb. Has anyone had any experience with this bass? There is no information on the Warwick website about the bass....Any reviews or opinions you guys have on the bass would be great.

Thanks guys :bassist:
  2. bassphisher

Jan 16, 2005
    ns, canada
    I have no personal experience with fretless thumb basses---or for that matter, any Warwicks beyond those that I've muddled about with in music stores---but a few months ago I caught a gig by an eight-piece funk unit, and the bass player was playing one. Out front, it sounded incredible. Sat in the mix just as it should, somwhere between the kick and the horns. Had some growl, had some "mwah." Gold.

3. Whafrodamus

Oct 29, 2003
    Andover, MA
    I have a thumb 4 NT fretted and woudl do anything for a fretless twin, but I have to wait until I get "A" nother bass first ;)
  4. MikeBass

Nov 4, 2003
    Ferndale MI.
    Artist: Xotic Basses/AccuGroove
    Absolutly one of the finest fretless basses I've ever owned or played.
    I had mine for years and thought I would go to the grave with it until I played an F Bass BNF5.
    Plus after 2 problems involving neck thru basses that almost made me have exotic firewood, I went to bolt-on necks.

All the mwah and growl that you could ever want.
    The wenge neck ones do have more growl and mwah than the newer ovangkol ones. The ovangkol is still sweet, but the much stiffer wenge and ebony fingerboard is one wicked combo.

Super Jaco to monster Pino. Pan to the front pick-up, roll off the treble, play up by the neck and it's big and fat as hell.

I had Thumb fretless 5 & 6 neck-thrus and also a bolt-on 6 fretless (wenge neck) and they killed.