Fretless w/Piezo - Good or Bad?

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by SamHD, May 5, 2005.

1. SamHD

Nov 22, 2004
    Would choosing a Fretless w/Piezo be a wise decision or is it non-relevant to have it on a fretless...

Sorry, may be a dumb question, but I have no experience on Fretless nor have ever used a bass with a Piezo pickup.

Basically, I'm trying to determine if I'd be better off getting a Fretless Stingray w/2EQ, 3EQ, or 3EQ w/Piezo.

Confused :confused:

Any suggestions?
  2. Juneau

Jul 15, 2004
    Dallas, TX.
    The piezo will add a bunch of tonal options, especially when blended with the mag p'ups. Most people Ive read say to spend the extra cash, that its worth it in tonal variety and a very DB like tone when soloed.

So if thats what your after, Id say go for it!
  3. bassmonkeee

bassmonkeee Supporting Member

Sep 13, 2000
    Decatur, GA
    IMHO, piezos sound better with fretless than with fretted basses. I've got fretted and fretless Bongos with piezos, and I find the piezos add more to the fretless'ssssss sound. :D
  4. I had an SR-5 w/piezo- although I didn't really care for the piezo at the time, I think now I could use the option(particularly on fretless). You can always turn it down, or off. One thing I don't like about the SR-5 is no active bypass- oh, & you need a screwdriver to change batteries. Not a huge deal, but a real groove-killer if you lose the battery mid-song.
  5. djcruse

Jun 3, 2002
    Norwood, MA
    I have a piezo pickup only on my Rob Allen MB2 fretless. Great sound. Of course, this thing was created to sound more like a double bass. And it succeeds. Great sound, as I said.

The only way to really know if it's for you is for you to try it. Get thee to a store!

Good luck!
  6. Starwind

Mar 26, 2005
    I tried a stingray4 with piezo, the sound is great!
  7. All you have to do is listen to Alain Caron and you'll find that it's very good! :eek:
  8. djcruse

Jun 3, 2002
    Norwood, MA
    Or Steve Swallow.