Fretless... Where to start?

Discussion in 'Technique [BG]' started by MTBassMania, Nov 17, 2015.

1. MTBassMania

MTBassMania

Mar 5, 2013
    So I recently got a fretless, and I'm not really sure where to start. I've been playing fretted for 7 years, so part of me thinks I should continue as I've been going, just switching to using the fretless. I also picked up upright earlier this year, and I've been thinking maybe I should start the same way I started there: Look up a buncha videos, and pretty much work my way through Essential Elements for Strings (Double Bass edition), since the backing tracks have proven handy for dialing in my intonation. Thoughts? Tips from seasoned fretless players? My intonation really isn't that bad: when I first started on bass, my teacher taught me to put my fingers just behind and a little on the back of the frets, just in case this scenario came up. And I did look up some youtube videos, but most of them were essentially "how to sound like Jaco" tips. But I don't want to have any bad habits built into my technique. Any advice would be appreciated!

2. DiabolusInMusic

DiabolusInMusic Functionless Art is Merely Tolerated Vandalism

On a fretless you are generally shooting for playing on the line. I am guessing you have a lined board but either way you should be listening for intonation and not looking for it. Just keep rocking it like a fretted if you want or just toss in some slides. I would suggest working on your chords or doublestops, it will improve your pitch the fastest in my experience. I also recommend singing and learning your intervals to improve intonation but I am guessing you've already got those down.

If you want mwah or to sound like Jaco those are techniques that can be worked on, just depends what you want to do with the fretless. Good mwah comes from a good setup, playing on the pads of your fingers, and playing over or near the neck.

MTBassMania likes this.
  3. tfer

tfer

Jan 1, 2014