Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Fretless?

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by JazzerHF, Dec 14, 2004.

1. JazzerHF

JazzerHF

Dec 14, 2004
    Hi,
    I'm new to the talk bass community, and I just want some suggestions for buying a fretless bass. Im working with $2000, I want unlined, and a tone similair to jaco's (except with a little more bass in the tone) What are some good basses that fit this criteria?
    thank you

2. Mike Money

Mike Money Banned

Mar 18, 2003
    Bakersfield California
    Avatar Speakers Endorsing Hooligan
    eh... well...

Sadowsky jazz? i dunno if they do fretless, though..

for 2k, you can get a jaco reissue.

3. Benjamin Strange

Benjamin Strange Commercial User

Dec 25, 2002
    New Orleans, LA
    Owner / Tech: Strange Guitarworks
    The Jaco fretless is a pretty damn good bass for that kind of price. Or you could just do what Jaco did and get yourself a regular old fretless jazz and play the hell out of it.

4. Jaco Reissue could do the trick, but it's lined, as are all MIA fretless Fenders. You could get a MIJ Fender fretless, which is unlined, or even a fretless P bass from the 70s (big unlined board, less Jaco-ey due to the P pickup, but good overall mwah and a big woody tone).

Lakland makes great fretlesses, and G&L does too. Might wanna check those out for fretless Jazz basses.

5. Brad Johnson

Brad Johnson Commercial User

Mar 8, 2000
    Gaithersburg, Md
    Boom Bass Cabinets, DR strings
    Fortunately for you there are usually loads of killer fretlesses available available used in that price range. In particular look for Elricks, Stambaughs, heck there's a used Brubaker 5 on eBay right now. Also some of the Zon fretlesses are world class IMO.

6. Jazzguy

Jazzguy Banned

May 3, 2004
    You might want to look at a CB bass.
    I have been considering making the move on one.
    http://www.cbbasses.com