1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

Fretted or Fretless?

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by Mr L, Jul 28, 2012.

1. Mr L

Mr L

Jul 22, 2012
    Vancouver BC
    So a lot of my friends that play bass swear by their fretless, however i am new to playing bass but i do really like the sound they have. My question is (and i apologize for my lack of knowledge) are fretless basses more difficult to play/learn than a fretted bass? Also i play in a church band, we are really directed towards the younger people in our church so we do have a much more up-beat sound. Would a fretless have any place in a band like this?

2. K-Punk

K-Punk Supporting Member

Feb 27, 2007
    PDX
    Intonation is the key to playing fretless bass...Nobody likes an out of tune bass. :)

3. Fretless bass takes some dedicated practicing. There are many string, construction, and electronics configs out there, so there isn't just one singular sound.

4. I play a fretless in our praise band. No one has complained yet.

That being said, yes, the fretless may prove to be more difficult, but not THAT much more. Violins, cellos, violas, ouds, and upright basses don't have frets either but people still learn to play them.

Since it seems you have started learning to play bass and already have some musical training then learning and playing fretless shouldn't be that much harder. And, if you feel more comfortable playing a fretless with lines then by all means use one.

Have fun in your new world of fretlessing.

5. Jeff Scott

Jeff Scott Rickenbacker guru.......... Supporting Member

Apr 11, 2006
    Upright bassists do/did not have the option of learning to play their choice of bass with a fretted upright bass (discounting the centuries old versions with gut string "frets"). Just sayin'.