Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Fretted to Fretless

Discussion in 'Technique [BG]' started by APouncer, Nov 3, 2000.

1. APouncer

APouncer

Nov 3, 2000
    Lancashire, UK
    Hi, I've been playing fretted bass guitar for 3 years after a prior 5 years on guitar. I have been given a fretless bass and am now ready to face the challenge, only problem? I'm no good! ! ! Ant hints, tips etc to aid the transition? Nothing too bassic! ! !

2. snyderz

snyderz

Aug 20, 2000
    AZ mountains
    I'm certainly no expert as I have only been playing for a year. Went to a five string fretless about a month ago. Easier transition than you think. One suggestion from this newbie would be to play for a while on your fretted bass with your eyes closed. Get comfortable on a couple tunes and then go to the fretless and play the same tunes. I agree with previous posts that it will definately improve your ear.
    Doc

3. APouncer

APouncer

Nov 3, 2000
    Lancashire, UK
    It's not so much the lack of position markers that is the problem, I have pretty good feel for that, my problem is more that all I play sounds like a normal bass, how do I emphasise the fretless sounds? Why doesn't it sound like other players? Do I attack the notes? Before or after the beat? Vibrato - where? I want to sound more like a dble bass and it sounds the same as my fretted! Are you enjoying the change?

4. eli

eli Mad showoff 7-stringer and Wish lover Supporting Member

Dec 12, 1999
    NW suburban Chicago
    The fretless "mwah" that you're looking for is in four main areas:

1) LOW string action. You will want to straighten the neck some (some swear by dead straight, though mine still has a bit of bow), and lower the bridge saddles. When you can hear the "mwah" unplugged, then you've got it. Then go TOO far -- just so you know where to back off to.